Something I’m Passionate About…3: Travel

To me, there is always a strong allure in visiting new places, seeing unfamiliar things, encountering unpredictable situations, communicating with different people, and learning fresh knowledge. Then, travel became the best choice that can meet all of these needs and expectations.

Just like many people, I enjoy travelling. I love travelling. I’m a travel-addict.

During the past 22 years, I lived in Beijing, the capital city of China. Because of my love for travelling, I’ve also been to many places in China, such as Hong Kong, Shanghai, Xiamen, Qingdao, Wuhan, Yichang, Hohhot, Harbin, Jinan and so forth. To some extent, travelling is sort of my lifestyle. It not only enables me to have a better understanding of the people and society, but also provides me with a wider outlook.

China is a huge country with a long history. All together there are 34 province-level administrative units. Every province has its own features, while every city, no matter metropolitan or small town, has its own styles. Travelling in China is really wonderful. From desert to ocean, from forests to mountains, from historical sites to modern cities, you will have a great view of different types of natural sceneries as well as cultural landscape in one country. I always try to take every opportunity to travel around China. The more places I visit, the more fun and beauty I find.

Among all of these cities I once visited, my favorite city is Xiamen. Xiamen is a beautiful coastal city in the southeast of China. It is acknowledged as China’s 2nd most suitable city for living. I fell in love with this beautiful city at the first sight!

 

Gulangyu Island is the biggest specialty in Xiamen. After British victory in the First Opium War, Xiamen became one of the five “treaty ports” established by the Treaty of Nanjing in 1842. And Gulangyu Island was designated as a secure haven for foreign settlement in 1903. Then more and more Europeans, Japanese and wealthy overseas Chinese came to the tiny island and built lavish mansions, consulates and churches there.

Now, Gulangyu Island has become an extremely popular place among Chinese tourists with its wonderful scenery, beautiful ex-colonial buildings, a variety of special shops and delicious snacks.

Actually, I have just gone to Xiamen last year before I came to the U.S. But I’d love to visit there again!

This summer, after finishing the first session of summer course, I will continue my travelling. This time, I plan to go to Hangzhou and Suzhou—both are renowned cities that famous for great natural sceneries in eastern China. An old Chinese saying declares, “There is heaven above, Suzhou and Hangzhou below.”


When you travel to Hangzhou, West Lake should be your first place to go. Ripping water, misty mountains, and luxuriant vegetation that is dotted with myriad of halls, towers, pavilions, temples, and bridges—West Lake is the paradise for tourists. Great poets in ancient China always compared the West Lake to the most beautiful woman. How beautiful it is!

Suzhou is famous for its great classical gardens.

I really look forward to the coming trip!

Finally, I want to show a place I always dreamed of: Tibet. Several years ago, when I was reading a book about travelling, I was shocked by those amazing pictures of Tibet. Since then, I dreamed of one day travelling around this mysterious land.

I really hope that one day I can make my dream come true.

Leave a Reply

