Journalism Reflection 3:How to be a Great Journalist?

By rights, this week seems to be my lucky week. After nearly two months’ hard work and four terrible or good packages, I am eventually cleared. During the past few weeks, intensive works, limited time and huge pressure made my really stressed out. And now, this week, I can eventually find temporary respite from interviewing, shooting and editing, and begin to prepare for the series of tests in KOMU.

However, the surprise of being cleared just bring me the relief and pleasure just for a while, and then, a serious question immediately occurred to me and haunted me during these days.

How to be a great journalist?

I’m not sure that in other people’s eyes, if it is weird or too ambitious to discuss this question now. I mean, I’m a student who just starts the “journalism career” since last year—with little journalistic background, lacking real-time experiences, and still learning the basic skills and techniques of being a professional journalist. I know clearly that at present, my essential task is to sharpen my professional skills, strengthen my ability to storytelling and improve my comprehensive qualities to be a journalist. But, I cannot stop thinking about that question: how to be a great journalist?

I’m pretty sure that our J-school and our education here is very prestigious and professional. I also believe that after getting through all of these tough but practical trainings here, I can be a good journalist in the future. Nevertheless, I have little confidence in myself to becoming a great journalist.

In our daily work, we are taught to be good at shooting, editing and storytelling; we are given a lot of opportunities to practice what we have learned. It is true that laying a solid foundation will be greatly helpful in our future career, but sometimes I was confused about that, are we pay too much attention to specific techniques but ignore the big picture of the people, society and even journalism.

Being a journalist is my dream since I was a little girl. With my study going into deep, I have an increasingly awareness that being a journalist is what I really want to do. To me, being a good journalist is fine, but I hope that I can achieve my goal of becoming a great journalist. As far as I am concerned, to be a great journalist, the most important thing is passion and enthusiasm. Only with a strong love for this job, can people try their best and work hard to learn, to practice and to devote into journalism. And then, a comprehensive knowledge system with critical thinking is necessary. I always think that compared with technical skills, these are the real core quality of a great journalist. Also, we need a deep understanding to the people and society, as well as a great vision. People are the subject and the key element of journalism. We should not only focus on their small stories, more importantly, great journalists will not stay on the surface, but dig into their small stories. Without a better understanding of them, it seems to be an unrealistic goal.

I find some materials that might be able to answer part of this question. Just “part of”, but it is still useful to some extent.

Insight Into an Outstanding Journalist

The Social Skills of Great Journalists

Five Great Journalists Portfolio and CV Websites

Here is the scripts.

Actually, I don’t think I find a complete and a good answer for this question right now, and I will definitely keep thinking about it.

2 thoughts on “Journalism Reflection 3:How to be a Great Journalist?

  1. I took a few points off, because this post is more personal than it should be. You were supposed to pick a news clip.

    A few corrections:

    I’m pretty sure that our J-school and our education here is very prestigious and professional.
    Being a journalist is my dream since I was a little girl.

    Pay attention to tenses. I think that’s a problem for everyone learning another language.

    • Thanks for the correction.
      I choose this topic because it is what I’m thinking about these days. I thought the point of this part is “reflection”, and the news clip is just a suggesion but not a must…I don’t know… So is there any way I can make up?

Leave a Reply

